Book of John

Two of my favorites, John Mayer and John Legend, dropped albums in September. Thanks to Spotify I instantly dove into the work of these incredible artists that appear to be in very different places in their lives.

It actually frightens me how much I relate to and love John Mayer; in spite of his controversial KKK penis. John is clearly a tortured and socially awkward soul and some part of me relates to that. I can easily sing all of his albums backyards (with the exception of Heavier Things, outside of Daughters, he lost me on that one). Paradise Valley is a salty sweet treat of heartache, humor and acceptance.

John Legend, on the other hand, has always been more like that awesome distant friend that you only remember you adore when you meet up for drinks. He’s consistently intoxicating with his love filled songs & chords that stir something up in you and that create the ultimate sexy and sophisticated ambience.

I’m tickled by the fact both of their albums dropped the same week. I’m even more surprised by how much I love them equally even though they both awaken completely different feelings in me.

o-LEGEND-TEIGEN-570

John & Chrissy on the set of his All of Me video. Something so endearing about this photo.

Legend is so in love with Chrissy Tiegen.  Love in  the Future is the ultimate ode to her and just being young and recklessly in love. I totally get it; those emotions and his admiration of Chrissy. I follow her on Twitter/Instagram and she is clever, passionate, vulnerable, honest and painfully gorgeous. It’s so refreshing to see a beautiful young woman be so dynamic.  His selection of her as a wife says great things about him. My only critique of the album is that it’s far too long. All the tracks after the Angel Interlude would have been better on a deluxe CD.

Nyk Picks: Love in the Future (John Legend, 2013)

Open Your Eyes

“Darling open your eyes. Let me show you the light. You may never find a love that’s right.”  The 80/20 Rule is just a fact, folks.

All of Me

“Love your curves and all your edges. All your perfect imperfections.”

Dreams

“Baby, it seems the time is never right. You go left and I go right, it’s crazy but I’m still waiting. If I play my cards my luck’s gonna strike. Until then, there’s the night…”

Angel (Interlude)

Stacy Barthe took Anita Baker to another level. I didn’t even know that was possible. Her stylization of “You’re so strong but tender too. You’re my angel” is everything right in the world.

John-Mayer.-In-Studio.-Paradise-Valley.-June-21-2013

John in his natural habitat. Drenched in emotion.

Mayer is on the opposite end of life. He seems to finally be at peace though, with his wandering heart & feet. Other than appealing to my affinity for country music, the painful honesty of being someone who maybe thinks and feels to much definitely spoke to me on this project.

Nyk Picks: Paradise Valley (John Mayer, 2013)

Dear Marie

“Dear Marie, can you tell me what I used to be…and If you’re further up the road can you show me what I still can’t see.”

Paper Doll

“You’re like 22 girls in one and none of them know what they’re running from.”

Wildfire (feat. Frank Ocean)

“Back in Paris you told me you were suicidal. It’s not a vacation if I lose you to the Eifel. You’re gorgeous but you can’t fly.”

Waiting on the Day

“Waiting on the day. When you’ll love me all the way. When you’ll hang your things & stay.”

Music is scripture for me so these are added verses to the Book of John. Go forth and enjoy…

2 Comments on “Book of John”

  1. Miss Lucy says:

    Love in the Future grew on me. I instantly loved ‘All of Me’. Perfect tune. I love his love for her. Very kind.
    John Mayer lost me on Paradise Valley. I will have to give it another listen.


Leave a Reply

