“…birthless, deathless, eternally present…”

One of my favorite Nows. A few Summers ago in Atlanta.

One of my favorite Nows. A few Summers ago in Atlanta.

When I was 20, my very first boyfriend told me about Eckhart Tolle’s life altering book, The Power of Now. He was (and still is) a strange and emotional Cancer and the book seemed to calm his over active mind and heart.

The idea of no past or future seemed crazy to me. As an incessant planner I have lived in the future for most of my life. My next job, boyfriend, haircut, etc…The possibilities of tomorrow used to rule my reality.

Several years and recommendations later I picked up Tolle’s beloved work and my life is better for it. Instantly I found myself being more aware of the power in the present to transform my health, relationships and career. No waiting on my better self to have the life I wanted, I could have it right now!

Below I share a few of my favorite quotes from the book.

“I cannot tell you any spiritual truth that deep within you don’t know already. All I can do is remind you of what you have forgotten.”

“Being can be felt but never be understood mentally.”

“Not to be able to stop thinking is a dreadful affliction but we don’t realize this because almost everybody is suffering from it, so it is considered normal.”

“Disease happens when things get out of balance.”

“You see and judge the present through the eyes of the past and get a totally distorted view of it.”

“Accept-then act.”

“Pleasure is always derived from something outside of you, whereas joy arises from within.”

“The pain that you create now is always some form of nonacceptance, some form of unconscious resistance to what is…the more you are able to honor and accept the Now, the more you are free of pain [and] suffering.”

“Whatever the present moment contains, accept it as if you had chosen it.”

“Your task is not to search for love but to find a portal through which love can enter.”

“The greatest catalyst for change in a relationship is complete acceptance of your partner as he or she is without needing to judge or change them in any way.”

“Love is a state of Being. Your love is not outside; it is deep within you. You can never lose it and it cannot leave you.”

“Pain can only feed on pain. Pain cannot feed on joy.”

“The light is too painful for someone who wants to remain in darkness.”

“Most illnesses creep in when you are not present in the body. If the master is not present in the house all kinds of shady characters will take up residence there.”

“You can always cope with the present moment, but you cannot cope with something that is only a mind projection. You cannot cope with the future.”

“Flowers are not anxious about tomorrow but live with ease in the timeless Now and are provided for abundantly by God [the Universe].”

“Any lesson from the past is applied Now. Any planning as well as  working toward achieving a particular goal is done now.”

“Ultimately, this is not about solving your problems. It’s about realizing that there are no problems. Only situations to be dealt with now.”

“Full attention is full acceptance, [this] is surrender.”

“Nothing real can be threatened.”

Leave a Reply

