Nyk Picks: A Taste of Buchanan

Photo pit stop as the guys took a break to um, relieve themselves. Real African like.

Photo pit stop as the guys took a break to um, relieve themselves. Real African like.

Well, my goal to see more of Liberia is coming to fruition one month at a time. December is looking particularly promising. First up, Buchanan. I took a day trip to Buchanan for the Dumboy Festival and much like dumboy, it was short, sweet and sinfully gratifying. This was a great introduction to this gorgeous city in Grand Bassa County & I definitely will be returning; possibly to make a kid by those long stem coconut trees that I’m absolutely obsessed with now.

Had some kiss-me  (Liberian name for what I believe is a cousin to snail) after my dumboy. t was peppery, odd & delicious.

Had some kiss-me (Liberian name for a type of shelled meat that I believe is a cousin to snail). It was peppery, odd & delicious.

IMG_4566

Long stem coconut trees in all their glory

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

